full description

     

    On Golden Pond is a classic
    American comedic drama that’s every bit as touching, warm, and witty today as
    when it debuted off Broadway in 1978. Retired couple Ethel and Norman Thayer
    are spending their 48th summer at their vacation home on Golden Pond, in the
    woods of Maine. Their delightful summer routine–fishing, picking strawberries,
    enjoying old mementoes, listening to the loons call–is given a bitterly
    comedic edge by Norman’s unreliable memory and cantankerously morbid
    statements. When their daughter Chelsea visits for Norman’s 80th birthday,
    bringing her boyfriend Bill and Bill’s teenage son, Billy Jr., the whole family
    must come to grips with Norman and Chelsea’s mutual bitterness, while Norman
    blossoms with his chance to mentor young Billy. The turbulent relationship
    between father and daughter, the generation gap between young and old, and the
    difficulties of a couple in the twilight years of a long marriage, all combine
    in a play that effortlessly illustrates the hilarious, heartbreaking, human
    moments of which life is made.





    Keeton Theatre
    Tickets
    Fri, Oct 22, 2021 7:00 pm
    Sat, Oct 23, 2021 7:00 pm
    Sun, Oct 24, 2021 2:00 pm
    Thu, Oct 28, 2021 7:00 pm
    Fri, Oct 29, 2021 7:00 pm
    Sat, Oct 30, 2021 7:00 pm
    Sun, Oct 31, 2021 2:00 pm
    Thu, Nov 4, 2021 7:00 pm
    Fri, Nov 5, 2021 7:00 pm
    Sat, Nov 6, 2021 7:00 pm
    Map
    Event Details
      Search
      Featured